Menu
 Home
 News
 Articles/Guides
 Forums
 Goody Gallery
 Downloads
 FAQ
 Links
 Register
 Contact Us
 Club T-Shirts
 Journals

 Login

 Members Online
Last visits :
Jenny_GibbonJenny_Gibbon
mrlogan
ronhallau
BritOzManBritOzMan
PaddyMad4PaddyMad4
Online :
Admins : 0
Members : 0
Guests : 53
Total : 53
Now online :

 Joining the Club

Instructions for joining the club & getting our newsletter can be found in the our FAQ.


 Requesting Goodies Repeats

Suggestions can be found in our FAQ.


  Survey for Goodies Repeats

Fill in The Goodies Uk Audience Survey.


Forums - Anything Anytime
Go up one level
 Author Message
ade42

Posts: 26

ade42



offline

 WWW 
 
 Subject:  Re: I need help
08/09/2008 02:50 GMT

Here are some examples of mine..  I'm using a Canopus AVDC-50 to Adobe Premiere  My own VHS "Restoration" Plugins Written for VDUB then the Cleaned DV to DVD with Canopus Procoder at the Highst bitrate  and to Divx and a  Very high Bitrate..

The examples from wahski  although look impressive. there seems to be way way way too much "digital Video Noise Reduction" looks like a whole pile of Vaseline has been smeared on the screen. and it looks like you de-interlaed it as well.. why?

This is the 8th time over 10 years I've tried to put the goodies on DVD.  each time i wasnt happy with the VHS clean up tools.. UNTILL I WORTE ONE!!! 

I use a brand new Panasonic HIFI VCR
and what you get is clean crisp images..










 
mynameishelga

Posts: 146

mynameishelga



offline

 WWW 
 
 Subject:  Re: I need help
04/09/2008 09:08 GMT

William, can I ask what brand your DVD/VCR is? I'm onto my second machine in 2 years (a replacement for the first one which was a dog) and now the SECOND one has been playing up for months. I've reverted to taping things on the VCR because the DVD is so tempremental - rediculous. I want to buy a new machine before I take the other one back for repairs, because I know they'll hang onto it for the usual 6 weeks....then when it comes back I might use it as an anchor.

 
Grimlaw

Posts: 15

Grimlaw



offline

  
 
 Subject:  Re: I need help
18/04/2008 09:51 GMT

Ladies and Gents. I thank you all for your help, it is very much appreciated.

 
lisa

Posts: 4410

lisa

Moderator


offline

 WWW 
 
 Subject:  Re: I need help
27/03/2008 02:11 GMT

Welcome to the forums, kc! Thanks for your helpful contribution to the disucssion. 

 
kcjones

Posts: 37

kcjones



offline

  
 
 Subject:  Re: I need help
26/03/2008 14:44 GMT

Hi there,

I'm a newbie here, who just had to chime in regarding canopus advc gear! 

The current models are wonderful, but if you can find  the now-out-of-production advc-100's anywhere, snap it up.  It's got a few features that are very useful for converting old videos that aren't included on the newer models. (if you want to get technical, it's got a macrovision cracker that's useful if you're someone who scours the web looking for out-of-print video treats), and a set of analog inputs via a 7-pin DIN for S-Video, or composite,  and stereo mini-jack on the back.)
I've had mine about a year, and have converted dozens of tapes since then with nary a problem. Everything stays in sync, and it's foolproof. really!

Last modified: 26/03/2008 14:58 GMT by kcjones
wahski

Posts: 220

wahski



offline

  
 
 Subject:  Re: I need help
06/03/2008 12:07 GMT

William is right, the easiest way is to hook up VCR to DVD recorder.  The quality is OK via this method and for volume recording the best way to go. It is much less time consuming, menus options are poor though, unless you re-author the DVD on your PC.

If you are after quality, you really need some type of hardware to do the converting for you.
Usually such a "box" will have RCA audio/video inputs at one end, and firewire output which goes to your PC.

This is the way I went, I got an external box and are gradually converting my Goodies to DVD.  You can pay a few hundred to thousands for this equipment.

Personally the best brand I have come across is Canopus, it does not drop frames, re-synchs each video frame, locks the audio and some perform a "clean up" of the video as well.
-so no drop outs.

More Info :
http://www.canopus.com/products/ADVC55/index.php
http://www.canopus.com/products/ADVC110/index.php

Once the file is recorded on your PC, you convert it to mpeg2 format, then use some DVD Authoring program
to make up your menus (complete with Rolf Harris    Play buttons)

Programs I use are :

Tmpgenc for encoding to mpeg2
Tmpgenc DVD Author for making up DVD menus
Sound Forge (If I have to do any audio file work)

See below for a rough comparison between video captures, the 2nd one was with a ADVC unit.



Bill: "I used to have a pet rabbit once.......and at no stage did he ever strap me to the couch and stick carrots in my ears!"
Last modified: 06/03/2008 12:13 GMT by wahski
William_Grimbling

Posts: 184

William_Grimbling



offline

  
 
 Subject:  Re: I need help
06/03/2008 08:02 GMT

I took the easy way out - after much research into this very dilemma, I invested in a DVD/VCR combo that can copy from tape to disk.  The results aren't perfect (the menus are pretty basic, for instance, and positioning the chapter points is an art form) but the picture quality's grand, and since I needed a new DVD player anyway and had a LOT of tapes to convert, it was worth it.

Once you've DVD-ised the tapes, you can if you're keen rip them into your PC, mess about with the video files, and then re-burn to another DVD.  I've done this where I had a heap of daft things like music videos and bits of kids shows, I made a DVD with the lot as one big slab, then cut it into individual bits, removed ads and tidied up starts and ends in MovieMaker.

 
Edna

Posts: 2433

Edna



offline

  
 
 Subject:  Re: I need help
04/03/2008 10:48 GMT

Software and connections are what you need to start. Phonos video/audio out to video/in on a video card on yer pc. Alright so far?

 
bushbaby

Posts: 247

bushbaby



offline

  
 
 Subject:  Re: I need help
03/03/2008 11:34 GMT

I've not tried it, though I keep meaning to, but I believe there are systems where you can connect a vcr to a pc. I think Maplin do them (well I think that is where I browsed before).

 
Grimlaw

Posts: 15

Grimlaw



offline

  
 
 Subject:  I need help
02/03/2008 02:37 GMT

Hello all,

I have the 2 DVD sets (obviously), and I also have 4 x 4hour tapes of episodes on VCR tape (one of which has suffered minor damage  ).

I need help, I want to preserve these episodes, by copying them onto DVD, but I have no idea where to start.

Can someone please tell me where to start? How do I transfer video to DVD?

 

Go up one level

 This website was created with phpWebThings 1.5.2.
© 2005 Copyright , The Goodies Rule - OK! Fan Club